Production Project

“Baby monkey” by @Doug88888 is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

SUMMARY

Role:

Sound Designer

Intention (SMART Goal)

My intention was to make a song that goes with the theme of the game that my team was making.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Scott Lloyd Shelly

Scott was the lead sound designer for Terraria making the music that went perfectly with the theme and feel of Terraria.

Training Source(s)

An Interview With Scott Lloyd Shelly

Project Timeline

work on paper

fibonacci numbers

establish roles

mark up an mvp

set up a SoundTrap account and search for bongos

mess around and play with beats

find a “perfect” beat with bongos and add snare with cowbell

download and add to game

help team with vine bug

publish game

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Skills Commentary

Untitled-Song-1

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

Since we were making a monkey parkour game my ways of thinking for the music included looking for a bongo sounding drum and cowbells to have an open beat, I added a snare and background beat to keep the mood a little light.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

My team and I collaborated very well with seeing which music would fit well, getting a good idea on the team for what parts of the game we should keep or remove some features.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

A tool I used for information was the tutorial on Soundtrap since that is what I used for sound.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

A big career skill I managed to uphold was making sound that worked well with the type of game I was making, which will come in very useful.

Reactions to the Final Version

“For you Larry I think you hit your goal with the sound” -Kennedy

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

There wasn’t much storytelling to be done in our game, it was just a quickly chopped up game that could have been refined more, especially the vine, if we were to do this on Unity or Unreal Engine.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned a lot more about how the music can change how the player feels in. the game, for scared you could have a very deep base line with a low, reverbed pitch for an echoey dark touch. Or maybe you made a platformer running game you could have a speedy, fast pace, jumpy song with a lot less base and a lot more hi-hats.

Grammar and Spelling

For grammar and spelling I have been using Grammarly, which I highly recommend for the school to install, as I have been using it for years.

Editor

Jacen

2 thoughts on “Production Project”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *